Anambra decides Obi’s successor today as 23 candidates in race for gubernatorial seat

Posted: November 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

Anambra decides Obi's successor today as 23 candidates in race for gubernatorial seat

After weeks of intense campaigns by governorship candidates from 23 political parties, the 1,784,536 registered voters in Anambra State will today decide who will administer the affairs of the state for the

next four years. Today’s election, which is seen as a straight contest between the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), All Progressives Congress (APC), Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Labour Party (LP), has 23 candidates contesting to succeed incumbent Governor Peter Obi.

To ensure a hitch-free election, all entry points into the state would remain closed as from 6pm Friday to Sunday. Already, security had been beefed up at the Asaba, Onitsha boundary and Enugu, Awka boundary and the Oguta boundary.

The commercial city of Onitsha was calm as Police and other security agencies were seen patrolling the streets. Also, people were seen making last minute purchases, as the markets and all commercial outlets would be closed today, while movement would also be restricted.

Though, campaigns have officially ended in line with the Electoral Act, last minute door to door campaigns were still noticed.

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC said the commission was ready for the election, as issues of logistics had been addressed, including the challenges of the riverine areas in the Ogbaru and Anam areas. The Chief Press Secretary to INEC chairman, Kayode Idowu, told Newsmen said that today’s election would be an improvement on the Edo and Ondo governorship elections.

Addressing a meeting of stakeholders at the Women Development Centre Awka, on Wednesday, INEC Chairman, Attahiru Jega disclosed that arrangement had been concluded to provide unique result sheets in each polling booth, saying it will no longer be the case where INEC staff move one result sheet from one polling booth to another.

Also speaking, the Inspector General of Police, Mohammed Abubarkar, said that each of the three senatorial zones would be under a Commissioner of Police accompanied by 120 armed mobile police men.

The Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) in Anambra State, Prof. Chukwuemeka Onukaogu, warned candidates, voters and party supporters to refrain from electoral offences so as not to incur the wrath of the law.

Even though there are 23 candidates contesting in today’s election, analysts have highlighted four of the candidates as frontrunners – Chief Willie Obiano (APGA); Senator Chris Ngige (APC); Comrade Tony Nwoye (PDP), and Mr. Ifeanyi Ubah (LP). served as an Executive Director of Business Banking at Fidelity Bank Plc, having started his banking career with First Bank of Nigeria in 1981 from where he moved to Texaco Nigeria plc as an Accountant., just 38, was elected President of the National Association of Nigerian Students in 2003, a platform believed to have propelled his chairmanship of the party in 2005 when he was just 31 years old. is a medical doctor. He started his career as a civil servant and served at the National Assembly and State House clinics at different times., born on September 3, 1971, is the owner of Capital Oil and Gas.


posted by delight exclusive


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s